Student Art Inspired by The Eastbourne Ancestors Project

In one of my previous posts; Death and Art, I mentioned that a group of art students had visited the Eastbourne Ancestors lab to research and draw skeletal remains. The students were from the Part-time Foundation Diploma in Art and Design class, led by Elaine Cameron from Eastbourne’s Sussex Downs College .

The students were working on a project based around ‘Collection’ (and ‘Structure’- a separate project). This involved considering the ethical, social and political implications of collections from a variety of museums, galleries and individuals and developing personal responses through art.

The students have now completed their inspired project pieces, and Elaine has sent me posters (laminated- apologies for the sheen on the photos below) of their work which I found amazing. I thought I’d share a few of these with you here. Unfortunately I don’t know the titles of these pieces, so I’ve given them basic names.

These pieces have been created by individuals who are not archaeologists, and to me its great to see how they have captured the different aspects of the project. This has helped me to see that I can reach out to individuals in other sectors and inspire them with an archaeologists curiosity.

The first pieces that caught my eye were these skeleton images, you can really appreciate the form and structure of the human skeleton.

Skeleton black & white Skeleton Colour

These pieces make me think of accessibility. Access to collections; public or private, access to archaeology; buried or excavated, or general lost and found.

The Lab - open The Lab - closed

My favourite pieces are these, which I may borrow for the Eastbourne Ancestors Saxon Festival. The use of the Scrabble tiles is very interactive, and allows individuals to get involved and express their opinions.

Scrabble Scrabble Map Scrabble - have a go

I like this piece because it makes me think about the structure of bone, how fragile it can be, but also how strong to survive for thousands of years.

Bone Structure

This piece is interesting in that its inspired by archaeologists and their record keeping. The English Heritage logo and the Council for British Archaeology are mentioned on the box, but these organisations don’t have anything to do with the site or the boxes contents (just in case anyone was wondering).

Archaeological Recording

These are a selection of pieces from the students who visited the Eastbourne Ancestors Project.

What do you think?

This entry was posted in Archaeology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Student Art Inspired by The Eastbourne Ancestors Project

  1. hspheritage says:

    Pretty cool! I actually once managed to get the word ‘exhumed’ into a game of scrabble!

Leave a Reply

